

SERIES MANIA ANNOUNCES FESTIVAL WINNERS AND FINAL NUMBERS OF PARTICIPANTS

PARIS & LILLE, FRANCE – March 25, 2022 – With Series Mania 2022 coming to a close, Ms. Laurence Herszberg, founder and general director of Series Mania, announced this evening the winners of the Series Mania Festival and the final number of participants.

"As we close the doors to an incredibly successful edition, we would first like to thank the public and the professionals who attended in record numbers, but also want to thank the city of Lille and the Hauts-de-France Region for their unwavering support of Series Mania," commented Herszberg. "We are delighted to be announcing our new dates for 2023, and in terms of final numbers, our numbers far exceeded our expectations for the Forum, and we could not be prouder."

"While the highlights are numerous from this year for the Festival, Forum, and Lille Dialogues, I certainly want to acknowledge our Jury President and my dear friend, Ukrainian producer film producer Julia Sinkevych, who was truly an inspiration to everyone who met her. I'd also like to congratulate all the Festival winners, as well as the team from *Paradys*, winner of the Forum's Co-Pro Pitching Sessions. We look forward to welcoming everyone to Series Mania 2023." (Dates will be announced shortly).

SERIES MANIA WINNERS:

INTERNATIONAL COMPETITION

The international jury, chaired by the Ukrainian producer Julia Sinkevych, surrounded by Marc Dugain (director, novelist, France), Christian Berkel (actor, Germany), Shira Haas (actress, Israel), Berkun Oya (screenwriter, director, writer, Turkey), Yseult (author-composer-performer, France), awarded 3 prizes among the 9 series presented in world or international premiere in the presence of their teams:

> Grand Prize: LE MONDE DE DEMAIN (France)

- Created by: Katell Quillévéré, Hélier Cisterne, Vincent Poymiro, David Elkaïm. With the collaboration of Laurent Rigoulet. Based on an original idea by Katell Quillévéré and Hélier Cisterne. With the participation of Kool Shen, JoeyStarr and DJ Détonateur S.

- Screenplay: Katell Quillévéré, Hélier Cisterne, Vincent Poymiro,, David Elkaïm, Raphäel Chevènement, Nour Ben Salem, Ruddy-Williams Kabuil.

- Director: Katell Quillévéré, Hélier Cisterne
- Production : Les films du Bélier, Arte France
- Broadcasting: Arte, Netlfix

> Best Actress: MICHELLE DE SWARTE in THE BABY (UK)

-Creation: Siân Robins-Grace, Lucy Gaymer -Screenplay: Siân Robins-Grace, Sophie Goodhart -Director: Nicole Kassell, Stacey Gregg -Production: Sister, Proverbial Picture -Broadcasting: HBO, Sky

> Best Actor: YEHUDA LEVI in FIRE DANCE (Israel)

Created, written and directed by: Rama Burshtein-Shai Production: Kuma Studios Broadcasting Yes TV International Sales: Yes Studios

INTERNATIONAL PANORAMA

The International Panorama, presided over by the French screenwriter and writer Anne Berest, surrounded by Roni Alter (singer, Israel), Sophie Deraspe (screenwriter, producer, Canada), Sofia Essaïdi (actress, singer-songwriter, France/Morocco), Eshref Reybrouck (director, Belgium), Greer Simpkin (producer, Australia), awarded 3 prizes among the 13 series presented in French, European, and world previews:

> Best series: THE DARK HEART (Sweden)

Creation: Oskar Söderlund, Gustav Möller Screenplay: Oskar Söderlund Director: Gustav Möller Production: FLX Broadcasting: Discovery + (Sweden) International Sales: Reinvent International Sales

> Special Jury Prize: SUNSHINE EYES (Germany)

Created, written and directed by Maria Von Heland Production: Maze Pictures, Red Balloon Film GMBH, Tindra Film

> Best series awarded by the Student Jury: FUNERAL FOR A DOG (Germany)

Creation: Hanno Hackfort, Bob Konrad, Thomas Pletzinge Screenplay: Hanno Hackfort, Bob Konrad and Thomas Pletzinger, adapted from his novel of the same name. Director: David Dietl, Barbara Albert

Production: Flare Entertainment GMBH, Sky Germany

Broadcasting: Sky International Sales: Sky Studios/NBCU

FRENCH COMPETITION

The international press jury composed of Kaleem Aftab (journalist The I, BBC, writer, producer UK), Marta Balaga (Episodi, Variety- Poland), Patrick Heidmann (FAZ, Germany) and May Synnöve Rogne (Aftenposten, Norway), awarded 4 prizes among the 6 French series presented in World Premiere in the presence of their teams:

> Best Series: CHAIR TENDRE

Created and written by: Yaël Langmann Director: Yaël Langmann, Jérémy Mainguy Production: Jerico TV in co-production with Big Band Story and Famela Broadcasting: France.tv Slash International sales: France TV Distribution

> Best Actress: the 3 actresses INÈS OUCHAAOU / CHARLIE LOISELIER / ASSA SYLLA in REUSSS

Creation: Jérôme Larcher, Catherine Regula, Screenplayt Jérôme Larcher, Estelle Koenig, Salif Cissé, Joël N'sita, Thomas Ducastel Director: Mohamed Chabane, Théo Jourdain Production: Lizland Films Broadcasting: France.tv Slash International sales: France TV Distribution

> Best Actor: AXEL GRANBERGER in LES PAPILLONS NOIRS

Creation and screenplay: Bruno Merle, Olivier Abbou Director: Olivier Abbou Production: GMT Production, Jack N'a Qu'Un Oeil, Arte France, Pictanovo, With the support of the Hauts-de-France region. Broadcasting: Arte, Netflix International sales: Mediawan Rights

> Best original music: Clément DOUMIC, Antoine WILSON, Sébastien WOLF from the group FEU! CHATTERTON for TOUTOUYOUTOU

Creation: Géraldine de Margerie, Maxime Donzel, David Coujard Screenplay: Géraldine de Margerie, Maxime Donzel, Benjamin Adam Director: Julien Patry Production: Ex Nihilo

NIGHT OF COMEDIES

> Best Series - High School Jury: BLOODY MURRAY (Israel)

Written and directed by Stav Idisis Director: Yogev Yefet Production: Kastina Communications Broadcasting: Yes TV International sales: Yes Studios

SHORT FORMATS

This competition is awarded by an international jury composed of David Hourrègue (producer, director, France), Alice Gruia (actress, director, Germany), Pablo Padovani (writer-composer, director, France), Hanna Van Vliet (actress, Netherlands).

> Best Series: FLOAT (UK)

Created, written by Stef Smith Director: Arabella Page Croft Production: Black Camel Pictures Broadcasting: BBC Scotland International Sales: Unannounced Film Company Ltd

>Special mention at 18H30 – NEW SEASON (France)

AUDIENCE'S PRIZE

This prize is awarded to the audience's favorite series among all the titles in competition – except for Short Formats- voted on at the end of the screenings.

> Best series: THE BIRTH OF DANIEL F. HARRIS (UK)

- Created, written by Pete Jackson
- Director: Alex Winckler, Alexandra Brodoski
- Production: Clerkenwell Films
- Broadcasting: Channel 4
- International Sales: BBC Studios

SERIES MANIA FINAL NUMBERS:

This edition brought together more than 70,000 participants for the Festival and 3,300 accredited persons on-site from 64 countries for the Forum (2021 Forum edition was 2,100 on-site; 2019 edition was 2,700 on-site). The visits to the Series Mania Website and Series Mania Digital Platform totaled 260,000 views.

PRESS CONTACTS: MORRIS MARKETING – USA

sheila@morrispr.com Sheila MORRIS – 818-487-9300 danielle@morrispr.com Danielle COTTON – 615-554-8671

MIAM - FRANCE

<u>rpseriesmania@gmail.com</u> Blanche Aurore DUAULT - 06 29 97 88 89 Nathalie iUND - 06 10 96 30 08 Michael MORLON - 06 60 45 65 69 Claire VORGER - 06 20 10 40 56