The DEENTAL Series Workshop for writers and producers from African, Caribbean and Pacific countries is back for a second edition

The DEENTAL Series Workshop is a professional workshop for writers and producers from African, Caribbean and Pacific countries launched jointly by the Series Mania and Fespaco festivals and the DEENTAL-ACP program, implemented by the CNC with the financial collaboration of the European Union and the support of the ACP (African, Caribbean and Pacific) States organization. 

This year again, 4 projects carried by duos composed of a writer and a producer will be selected to take part in a intensive workshop week in Lille, from 18 to 24 March 2022, in parallel with the Series Mania international festival.

From 18 to 21 March 2022, the participants will be supervised by experienced professionals. They will attend workshops, masterclasses and individual sessions to develop their series project with their mentors.

Then, from 22 to 24 March, the selected projects will participate in the Series Mania Forum and meet with accredited professionals. Series Mania and CNC teams will organize a dedicated program (networking, pitching session and meetings with professionals present at Series Mania (broadcasters, producers and distributors potentially interested…)).

Who can apply?

To be eligible, candidates must meet the following conditions :

  • be nationals of an ACP country
  • be able to talk in English in a professional context
  • have a fiction series project (in French or English)
  • be looking for international financial partners or co-producers

What documents should I provide?

  • The completed application form, which can be downloaded from the DEENTAL program page and from the Series Mania website
  • A 5-page mini-bible containing all the information needed to present the project (synopsis of the series, character arcs, note of intent from the creators, etc.). While French bibles are accepted, it is strongly recommended that you also submit an English bible. In case of selection, it will be mandatory for each team to provide a bible in English.
  • Note of intent from the author
  • Note of intent from the producer
  • CVs of the author and producer
  • A letter of application outlining the project’s background and the pair’s motivations, objectives and expectations for participation in the program in 2022
  • Provisional financing plan (optional)

All documents must be submitted in English or in French. 

Where and until when to apply? 

Applications must be sent by midnight (CET) on 20 December 2021 at the latest to the following address: deental@cnc.fr

What is covered?

For the duration of the program, the following costs are included:

  • Transport costs to and from the participant’s place of residence to the city of Lille
  • Accommodation in Lille
  • Meal
  • Participation in the activities proposed by the program (including accreditation)

What is the working language?

The entire course will be conducted in English (workshop, masterclass, individual courses), as well as the pitches and individual meetings that will take place during the Séries Mania Forum. It is therefore essential to be able to express yourself in English in a professional context.

Schedule

2/11/2021 : Launch of the call for applications.

20/12/2021: Closing of the call for applications, at midnight (CET).

January 2022: Announcement of the results of the call for applications by email.

17/03/2022: Arrival of the candidates in Lille.

From 18/03/2022 to 21/03/2022: Workshops, masterclasses and individual sessions with mentors/tutors at the Creative Bazaar.

From 22/03/2022 to 24/03/2022: Attendance to professional events and meetings during the Forum at Lille Grand Palais.

Rules and regulation

Application Form

ABOUT DEENTAL

Since 2020, the DEENTAL program, launched by the CNC with the financial collaboration of the European Union and the support of the ACP (African, Caribbean, Pacific) States Organization, gives financial top-ups to projects supported by the Aide aux cinémas du monde and/or the Fonds pour la jeune création francophone. A second component of the project is dedicated to implementing capacity-building actions to support the structuring of the audio-visual sector in ACP countries.

SERIES MANIA
Based in Lille since 2018, Series Mania – Lille / Hauts-de-France has become the biggest event dedicated uniquely to television series in Europe. Its festival offers exclusive world premieres of the greatest international series on the big screen, giving its audience – up to 72,000 spectators – 9 days of discoveries, parties and masterclasses with some of the most renowned personalities in the series world.
At the same time, Series Mania welcomes 3,000 French and foreign professionals of the TV industry at Series Mania Forum and Lille Dialogues summit. Two key events for networking and business that are now extended online with the creation in 2020 of Series Mania Digital Forum. 

FESPACO 
For more than 50 years, the Pan-African Film and Television Festival of Ouagadougou, initiated by a group of film lovers, has been a key actor in the annual festival calendar both in promoting the dissemination of all works of African cinema, allowing contacts and exchanges between professionals in the film and audiovisual, and in its contribution to the growth, development and safeguarding of African cinema as a tool of expression and education.

For any questions and to apply

Contact

Le DEENTAL Series Workshop à destination des auteur.es et producteur.rices ressortissants des pays d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique revient pour une seconde édition.

Le DEENTAL Series Workshop est un atelier professionnel à destination des auteur.es et producteur.rices ressortissants des pays d’Afrique, des Caraïbes et du Pacifique, lancé conjointement par les festivals Séries Mania et Fespaco et le programme DEENTAL-ACP, mis en œuvre par le CNC avec la collaboration financière de l’Union Européenne et le support de l’organisation des Etats ACP (Afrique, Caraïbes, Pacifique). 

Cette année encore, 4 projets portés par des duos composés d’un.e auteur.e et d’un.e producteur.rice seront sélectionnés afin de prendre part à la semaine de workshop intensif à Lille, du 18 au 24 mars 2022, en parallèle du festival international  de Séries Mania.

Du 18 au 21 mars 2022, les participant.e.s seront suivi.e.s par des professionnel.le.s expérimenté.e.s. Ils et elles assisteront à des workshops, des masterclasses et des sessions individuelles de développement de leur projet de série avec leurs mentors.

Puis, du 22 au 24 mars, les porteurs des projets participeront au Séries Mania Forum. Les équipes de Séries Mania et du CNC organiseront un programme dédié (networking, séance de pitch, ainsi que des rencontres avec les professionnel.le.s présent.e.s à Séries Mania (diffuseurs, producteur.trice.s et distributeur.trice.s potentiellement intéressé.e.s…)).

Qui peut candidater ?

Pour être éligibles, les candidat.e.s doivent correspondre aux conditions suivantes :

  • être ressortissant.e.s d’un pays ACP
  • peuvent échanger en langue anglaise dans un cadre professionnel
  • portent un projet de série de fiction (en langue française ou anglaise)
  • être à la recherche de partenaires financiers ou de coproducteurs internationaux

Quels documents fournir ?

  • Le formulaire de candidature complété, téléchargeable en ligne sur la page du programme DEENTAL et sur le site de Séries Mania
  • Mini-bible de 5 pages comportant toute information utile à la présentation du projet (synopsis de la série, arcs des personnages, note d’intention des créateurs, etc.). Si les bibles en français sont acceptées, il est fortement recommandé de soumettre également votre bible en anglais. En cas de sélection, il sera obligatoire pour chaque équipe de fournir une bible en anglais.
  • Note d’intention de l’auteur
  • Note d’intention du producteur
  • CVs de l’auteur et du producteur
  • Une lettre de candidature exposant le parcours du projet et les motivations, objectifs et attentes du binôme pour sa participation au programme 2022
  • Plan de financement prévisionnel (optionnel)

Où et jusqu’à quand envoyer sa candidature ?

Les dossiers de candidatures sont à envoyer, au plus tard le 20 décembre 2021 à minuit (CET), à l’adresse suivante : deental@cnc.fr

Quelle est la prise en charge ?

La sélection au programme comprend, pour la durée du programme :

  • Les frais de transport aller-retour entre le lieu de résidence du participant et la ville de Lille
  • L’hébergement à Lille
  • Une prise en charge des repas
  • La participation aux activités proposées par le programme (dont accréditation)

Quelle est la langue de travail ?

L’entièreté de la formation se fera en anglais (workshop, masterclass, cours individuels), ainsi que les pitchs et les rendez-vous individuels qui auront lieu lors du Séries Mania Forum. Il est ainsi indispensable de pouvoir s’exprimer en anglais dans un contexte professionnel.

Pour toute information complémentaire, vous pouvez vous référer au règlement ou nous contacter directement.

PLANNING

02/11/2021 : Lancement de l’appel à candidatures.

20/12/2021 : Fermeture de l’appel à candidature, à minuit (CET).

Janvier 2022 : Annonce des résultats de l’appel à candidatures par email.

17/03/2021 : Arrivée des participant.e.s à Lille.

Du 18/03/2022 au 21/03/2022 : Workshops, masterclasses et sessions individuelles avec les tuteurs au Creative Bazaar, Lille.

Du 22/03/2022 au 24/03/2022 : Participation aux évènements professionnels et aux rendez-vous du Séries Mania Forum à Lille Grand Palais.

Les duos sélectionnés devront être entièrement disponibles du début à la fin de la résidence.

Règlement

Formulaire de candidature

Candidatez maintenant !

J’envoie ma candidature

DEENTAL

Depuis 2020, le programme DEENTAL, lancé par le CNC avec la collaboration financière de l’Union Européenne et le support de l’organisation des Etats ACP (Afrique, Caraïbes, Pacifique), attribue des bonus financiers aux projets soutenus à l’Aide aux cinémas du monde et/ou au Fonds pour la jeune création francophone. Il prévoit également un volet d’accompagnement et de renforcement du secteur.

SERIES MANIA

Installé depuis 2018 à Lille, Séries Mania – Lille / Hauts-de-France s’est imposé comme le plus grand événement européen entièrement dédié aux séries. Son festival propose en avant-première et sur grand écran le meilleur des séries internationales, offrant ainsi au public – jusqu’à 72 000 spectateur.trice.s – 9 jours de découvertes, de fêtes et de rencontres avec les personnalités parmi les plus renommées du monde des séries.

En parallèle, l’événement accueille 3 000 professionnel.le.s de l’industrie sérielle mondiale lors de Séries Mania Forum et des Dialogues de Lille. Deux rendez-vous d’échange et de travail devenus incontournables, qui se prolongent de manière inédite depuis 2020 grâce à la création de la plateforme en ligne Séries Mania Digital Forum.

FESPACO 
Depuis plus de 50 ans, le festival panafricain du cinéma et de la télévision de Ouagadougou né de l’initiative d’un groupe de cinéphile est une étape phare dans l’agenda annuel des festivals. Il s’ancre comme un acteur clé pour favoriser la diffusion de toutes les œuvres du cinéma africain, permettre des contacts et échanges entre professionnels du cinéma et de l’audiovisuel, et contribuer à l’essor, au développement et à la sauvegarde du cinéma africain comme outil d’expression et d’éducation.

Pour plus d’informations et pour candidater

Contact